Spread the news

Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has disclosed that four weeks after it commenced the online pre-registration of voters on 28th June 2021, over one million Nigerians have registered. And that as of 7 am today, Monday 26th July 2021, the number of new registrants has risen to 1,006,661.

In a statement issued today by Bar. Festus Okoye, INEC National Commissioner and Chairman Information and Voter Education Committee, stated that the detailed distribution of the registrants by age, State/FCT, gender, occupation and disability for Week Four of the exercise has been uploaded to the Commission’s website and social media platforms. However, the distribution by age still shows that 740,063 (or 73.5%) are young Nigerians between the ages of 18 and 34.

According to him, the physical or in-person registration begins today, Monday 26th July 2021 at the Commission’s 811 State and Local Government Area offices nationwide. And that the exact locations of the designated centres have already been uploaded to its website and social media platforms.

INEC urged citizens to contact its state offices through the dedicated telephone numbers provided in the uploaded publication for further details.

“Nigerians who pre-registered online can now complete their registration at those centres based on scheduled appointments. In addition, other Nigerians who prefer to register physically/in person can now do so at those centres.

“Both online pre-registration and physical/in-person registration will continue simultaneously until the suspension of the Continuous Voter Registration, CVR exercise on 30th June 2022 to enable the Commission to clean up the data and compile the voters’ register for the 2023 General Election.

“The right to vote begins with the registration of voters. Thus, as we enter the next phase of the CVR exercise, we once again appeal to all citizens who wish to register to approach any of the Commission’s State or Local Government Area offices nationwide to do so,” Okoye said.

The National Commissioner reiterated that the ongoing registration does not include those already registered as voters, as the current exercise is only open to Nigerians who are 18 years and above who have not registered before. And that it is an offence under the Electoral Act for any citizen to register more than once.

FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. The content of this Website is made available by the Nigerian Pilot Newspaper Publisher. This Website seeks to facilitate the dissemination of informative, with engaging, and constructive news about events in Nigerian, Africa, and Globally as they happen. The “Distributor” of this Information are the Nigerian Pilot Newspaper and Nigerian Pilot Tv brands of Dom Communication, LLC.

DISCLAIMER: FAKE NEWS PUBLICATION. This Website NigPilot collects information from several Independent Reporters and may contain unauthenticated and/or copyrighted materials the utilization of which has not generally been explicitly approved or authorized by the copyright proprietor. NigPilot with concern to increase in misleading social media publications, please report any Fake, False, or Misleading News to info@nigpilot.ng for immediate action.

FAIR USE NOTICE. In accordance with THE LAW, the material on this Website is included for informational and educational purposes. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond “fair use,” you must obtain permission from the copyright owner or Nigerian Pilot WEBMASTER. For Nigerian Pilot Newspaper Advert Rates Click Here!

The post CVR: Online registration hits one million, as physical registration begins nationwide today -NigPilot appeared first on The Nigerian Pilot News.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Spread the news
CONTACT US : support@melodyinter.com
Previous articleSunday Igboho: Buratai merely doing his job as President Buhari’s Envoy -NigPilot
Next articleFight insecurity with simulation technologies, COAS tasked troops NigPilot


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here