Spread the news

Gianluigi Donnarumma won the Ballon d’Or Yashin Trophy award on Monday night.

Named after Russian icon Lev Yashin, the title is handed out to the best goalkeeper in the world for 2021.

Chelsea star Edouard Mendy was put up for the award having missed out on a full Ballon d’Or nomination – which was only bestowed upon Donnarumma from the world’s shot-stoppers.

That led to some consternation and the Senegalese star finished second in the final Yashin tally. The victor is selected by previous winners of the Ballon d’Or award.

Kasper Schmeichel, Ederson and Emi Martinez were also nominated from the Premier League.

May be an image of 7 people

Read Also: BREAKING: Lionel Messi wins record seventh men’s Ballon d’Or

Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak finished third in the 2021 ceremony with Ederson in fourth and Manuel Neuer ranked fifth. Martinez, Schmeichel, Thibaut Courtois, Keylor Navas and Samir Handanovic rounded out the top ten.

It was Liverpool’s Alisson who claimed the only previous Yashin Trophy, taking home the 2019 gong before last year’s ceremony was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Spread the news


Have you always desired a smooth online shopping experience. Do you have dreams of putting your goods out on platforms where you can get customers all over Nigeria. Then MelodyBiz Store is the right place for you. We offer competitive prices on goods and services and you can be rest assured to get what you ordered in the stipulated time. Log-on to MelodyBiz and experience a different dynamics of shopping
Previous articleLionel Messi beats Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho to win his 7th Ballon d’Or award
Next articleRonaldo blasts France Football editor over Ballon d’Or claims