Emergency EU summit on Belarus crisis begins

A photograph taken on August 19, 2020 at the EU headquarters in Brussels shows a screen displaying (from top to down R) European Council President Charles Michel, European Parliament President David-Maria Sassoli, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell, European Commission President Ursula Von Der Leyen, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte, Slovenian Prime Minister Janez Jansa, French President Emmanuel Macron, Czech Republic’s Prime Minister Andrej Babis, Sweden’s Prime Minister Stefan Lofven, Danish Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen, Belgian Prime Minister Sophie Wilmes, Hungary’s Prime Minister Viktor Orban, Poland’s Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki, Ireland’s Prime Minister Micheal Martin, Lithuania’s President Gitanas Nauseda, Greek Prime Minister Kyriekos Mitsotekis, Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte, and Latvia’s Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins, during the EU emergency video summit on the crisis in Belarus. – EU leaders began an emergency video summit to discuss the crisis in Belarus, as the country’s exiled opposition chief urged them to reject President Alexander Lukashenko’s disputed re-election. (Photo by Olivier HOSLET / POOL / AFP)