Home Sport Today Football Haaland wins 2020 Golden Boy Award

Haaland wins 2020 Golden Boy Award

Spread the love
Erling Haaland has won the 2020 Golden Boy Award, Tuttosport announced Saturday.
The Golden Boy Award is awarded to the top U-21 player registered to a top division club in Europe, and has been previous won by Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi and others (full list at bottom of post).

Barcelona back Sergino Dest finished 13th in the voting, four ahead of Canada’s Jonathan David. Fellow Canadian star Alphonso Davies was third.

American youngster Giovanni Reyna and Mexico’s Diego Lainez will be among the favorites to join the top tier of vote-getters in 2021 after being named to the initial shortlist but missing the cut for the Top 40 this season.

Haaland’s incredible 2019-20 season was split between Red Bull Salzburg and Borussia Dortmund. He scored 28 times with seven assists in 24 matched for the Austrians before scoring 16 and 3 in 18 appearances for BVB.

Haaland, 20, is the first Norwegian to win the award and first Bundesliga player named to the honor since Renato Sanches in 2016.

Because the award includes all clubs the player suited up for in a given season and Haaland started last season with American coach Jesse Marsch at Salzburg, Haaland is the first player from an Austrian club to win the award.

Read Also: Barcelona boss Koeman uncertain about Messi future

Four Premier League stars made the list, with Man City’s Ferran Torres and Phil Foden joined by Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) and Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).

Voting results

17. Jonathan David, Gent / Lille
16. Rodrygo, Real Madrid
15. Ryan Gravenberch, Ajax
14. Sergino Dest, Ajax / Barcelona
13. Sandro Tonali, Brescia / AC Milan
12. Mason Greenwood, Manchester United
11. Ferran Torres, Valencia / Man City
10. Vinicius, Real Madrid
9. Bukayo Saka, Arsenal
8. Dominik Szoboszlai, Red Bull Salzburg
7. Phil Foden, Man City
6. Dejan Kulusevski, Pama / Juventus
5. Eduardo Camavinga, Stade Rennais
4. Jadon Sancho, Borussia Dortmund
3. Alphonso Davies, Bayern Munich
2. Ansu Fati, Barcelona
1. Erling Haaland, Red Bull Salzburg / Borussia Dortmund

The post Haaland wins 2020 Golden Boy Award appeared first on Sporting Life.

Cheap Website Traffic

Leave a comment