Spread the news

Journalists win Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia, respectively.

Ressa is the CEO of Rappler, a news outlet critical of Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte’s regime, while Muratov heads the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta.

“Free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda,” Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, said as she announced the prize in Oslo on Friday.

She said the committee’s choice “is intended to underscore the importance of protecting and defending these fundamental rights.

“It is the 102nd time the prize has been awarded. Previous winners include Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Jr., Polish dissident Lech Walesa, the Soviet Union’s last leader Mikhail Gorbachev, and four US Presidents.

Last year the UN’s World Food Programme claimed the prize.

Ressa becomes the first woman to be awarded a Nobel Prize this year.

The awards in medicine, physics, chemistry and literature were given out earlier this week. (CNN)

Vanguard News Nigeria

The post Journalists win Nobel Peace Prize appeared first on Vanguard News.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Spread the news
Kazzylen Dollar Card
Previous articleA Heartwarming night for Captain Hosa
Next articlePolice hand over 187 rescued abductees to Zamfara govt –PPRO


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here